Tuesday, June 2, 2015

Greetings Jay Watchers!

Marianne Korosy, Ph.D.
 Jay Watch and IBA Coordinator
Audubon Florida
Survey opportunities across the state are listed below and include the name and email address of the person you are to contact to sign up for any of these dates and locations (or to contact for more information). We hope you will volunteer to spend time with Florida’s beautiful, charismatic, endemic Scrub-Jay and meet other volunteers and site managers. I challenge each of you to survey not only in your local region but to select one site out of your “usual” survey region – and join the fun!
Brevard County
Contact Maria Zondervan mzondervan@sjrwmd.com
-          Buck Lake Conservation Area – June 26-28 (Fri – Sun)
Contact Kristen Kneifl kristen_kneifl@nps.gov
-          Canaveral National Seashore – June 24-26 (Weds – Fri)
Charlotte County
Contact Jim Knoy JimKnoy@gmail.com
-          Prairie Shell Creek Preserve – July 8-10 (Weds – Fri)
Highlands County
Contact Matthew Hodge Matthew.Hodge@dep.state.fl.us
-          Lake June-in-Winter State Park – dates TBA
-          Highlands Hammock State Park – dates TBA
Contact Marianne Korosy mkorosy@audubon.org
-          Lake  Wales National Wildlife Refuge (Flamingo Villas unit) – June 30, July 1-2 (Tues-Thurs)
Contact Nicole Ranalli Nicole.Ranalli@myfwc.com
-          Clements/Royce unit, Lake Wales Wildlife & Environmental Area – dates TBA
-          Lake Placid Scrub unit, Lake Wales Wildlife & Environmental Area – dates TBA
-          Also inquire about additional FWC properties surveyed in region annually or interannually
Lee County
Contact Marianne Korosy mkorosy@audubon.org
-          Alva Scrub Preserve- June 22, two other dates TBA
-          Hickey’s Creek Mitigation Park - June 23-25 (Tues-Thurs)
Martin County
Contact Rob Rossmanith Robin.Rossmanith@dep.state.fl.us
-          Jonathan Dickinson State Park – multiple dates TBA on weekdays and weekends between June 15-July 15
Manatee County
Contact Chad Allison Chad.Allison@myfwc.com
-          Moody Branch Mitigation Park – July 7-9 (Tues – Thurs)
Contact Marianne Korosy mkorosy@audubon.org
-          Gilley Creek preserve  – June 16-18 (Tues-Thurs)
-          Little Manatee River Southfork preserve - June 26-28 (Fri – Sun)
-          Duette Preserve – July 10-12 (Fri – Sun)
Marion County
Contact Jess Rodriguez Jess.Rodriguez@myfwc.com
-          Halpata-Tastanaki Preserve – June 15-17 (Mon-Weds)
-          Central Florida Greenways “Triangle” Preserve – June 22-26 (Mon-Fri)
-          Half Moon Wildlife Management Area – July 14-16 (Tues-Thurs)
Polk County
Contact Nicole Gough ngough@sfwmd.gov
-          Lake Marion Creek WMA - June 30, July 1-2 (Tues-Thurs)
Contact Erik Egensteiner Erik.Egensteiner@dep.state.fl.us
-          Lake Kissimmee State Park – July 6-8 (Mon-Weds)
-          Allen David Broussard Catfish Creek State Park – June 17-20 (Weds – Sat); OTHER DATES TBA – contact Erik for more info
Sarasota County
Contact Nancy Edmondsen nedmonds@scgov.net
-          Deer Prairie Creek preserve (Sarasota Co.) - June 23, 24, 26 (Tues, Weds, Fri)
-          South  Venice/Lemon Bay Preserve - June 16, 17, 18 (Tues-Thurs);  Alternate day, June 19
Contact Brooke Elias belias@scgov.net
-          Shamrock Park - June 29, 30, July 1 (Mon-Weds); Alternate day, July 2
Contact Kathi Rader-Gibson krgibson@scgov.net
-          Casperson Park and Service Club parks - June 22, 23, 24 (Mon-Weds); Alternate day, June 25
St. Lucie County
Contact Doug Rogers Doug.T.Rogers@dep.state.fl.us
-          Savannas Preserve State Park – dates TBA
Contact Dale Armstrong  armstrongd@stlucieco.org
-          Indrio Savannahs Preserve – dates TBA
-          Sheraton Scrub Preserve – dates TBA
Volusia County
Contact Rich Harris rwharris@volusia.org
-          Lyonia Preserve, Deltona – June 15-26 (all dates inclusive of weekend dates)
Contact Jason DePue Jason.DePue@dep.state.fl.us
-          North Peninsula State Park (Volusia Co.) - June 16-18 (Tues-Thurs)
-          Blue Spring State Park (Volusia Co.) - June 22-27 (Mon-Sat) and June 29- July 2 (Mon – Thurs)
Contact Maria Zondervan mzondervan@sjrwmd.com
-          Lake Monroe Conservation Area (Volusia Co.) – June 26-28 (Fri – Sun)
Marianne Korosy, Ph.D.
 Jay Watch and IBA Coordinator
Audubon Florida
phone: 727-742-1683
Website: fl.audubon.org

No comments: